America Helping to Rid Holy Land of Indigenous Christians

Israel wants them out of the equation. America ignores them entirely. After all, to most Americans fed by mainstream media, all Palestinians are terrorists. But ironically, it is the Palestinian Christians who are seeking a peaceful, non-violent solution to the crisis. That’s right, they take the teachings of Christ seriously and try to apply them to their real life situation. They seek peace, not Armageddon. And we are helping to get rid of them.

On the following link you will find an article written by a Palestinian Christian scholar. Having lived it, he says it so much better than I can:

http://www.religion-online.org/showarticle.asp?title=3363

As usual it is the more liberal churches in the U.S. that are taking the lead and speaking out about this injustice. The Religious Right, meanwhile, continues to help pump money and arms into Israel to prepare her for Armageddon. After all, it’s they who are the “real Christians,” those who will stop at nothing to force Jesus’ hand and bring about his return. My question is, will he know them when he does come? “Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire…for I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat…I was a stranger and you did not invite me in….”

I hope this doesn’t sound too cruel, but when I think of these fanatics, I recall the end of the movie Raiders of the Lost Ark, when those Nazi archaeologists stared greedily into the ark lusting to see what no human was meant to see. They got their reward.

It’s well established that politics makes strange bedfellows. The Religious Right has entered into a devil’s bargain with Israel: “We’ll give you money and arms to fulfill your destiny to possess all the land of Abraham and we’ll say nothing about how you go about it. And you’ll permit us to traipse fanatically over your country and build our condos on the Mount of Olives so we can have a front row seat for Armageddon.”

Fundamentalism is the same, whether it’s Christian, Muslim or Jewish. You don’t count the bodies when God is on your side.

Incidentally, some of you may be wondering if I’ve become fanatical myself, since I keep repeating this same topic. I’d gladly stop if more people were speaking out about this. Until then, like Cato of old, I’ll keep yammering.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “

  1. Ray

    Keep yammering. There are a lot of Christians, including many in our church, who still need to hear your message.

  2. Thanks. Glad my repetition and crankiness is not seen by some as simply old age.

  3. Ray

    Of course not. There’s nothing simple about old age.

  4. Ray

    Sorry, I didn’t intend to cast asparagus at you.

Leave a Reply

